

Honorable Richard Glick Chairman Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 888 First Street NE Washington, DC 20426

Dear Chairman Glick and Members of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission,

The undersigned legislators write to express our support for PJM's July 30, 2021 filing to revise its capacity market rules to facilitate more participation by state-supported clean energy resources (ER21-2582). We urge you to approve this filing so that PJM's capacity auctions better reflect the availability of resources supported by state policy and do not impose unnecessary costs on consumers in our states.

The Federal Power Act reserves authority over generation to the states. As state legislators, we are fully committed to using that authority to advance the decarbonization of the electric system, which is essential to avoid further worsening of climate change that already poses increasingly dire risks to the well-being of our residents and significant costs on state government itself. We are doing our part to lead the fight against climate change, and will continue to push for a just energy transition, as the federal government has not yet taken meaningful steps to address this existential threat. Reducing our dependence on fossil fuels is important not only to avoid further climate destabilization, but also to protect communities against the air and water pollution associated with fossil fuel combustion, provide clean energy jobs in our state, and take advantage of the enormous cost savings that renewable energy can provide.

Yet our efforts to support the development of carbon-free generation sources have recently been thwarted by the Commission's approval of PJM capacity market rules that explicitly impede participation by state-supported resources. The broad "minimum offer price rule" (MOPR) will make it harder and in some cases impossible for the reliability value of renewable energy resources to be counted, meaning that consumers will have to pay for redundant and unnecessary fossil-fired resources instead. FERC should take this opportunity to reverse that overreach and restore the balance of state and federal authority envisioned by Congress.

We are extremely pleased that PJM has finally recognized that state policies are not a threat to be countered, but instead contribute to promoting resilient and affordable resource adequacy in the region that benefits all PJM customers. PJM's filing would prevent consumer bills from rising

unnecessarily and thus help to protect overburdened and economically vulnerable populations. Some of the undersigned had met with PJM earlier this year to express our concerns about the adverse impact of the broad MOPR and appreciate that PJM has responded in a way that instills greater confidence that states and PJM can continue to work together to bring about a more reliable and affordable clean energy system.

Thank you for your attention and consideration of our input.

Sincerely,

Delegate Lorig Charkoudian

Maryland

Senators Laura Fine Representative Sue Errington

Illinois Indiana

Delegate Heather Bagnall Delegate Darryl Barnes

Maryland Maryland

Delegate Kumar Barve Senator Pam Beidle

Maryland Maryland

Delegate Benjamin Brooks Delegate Jon Cardin

Maryland Maryland

Delegate Al Carr Delegate Dereck Davis

Maryland Maryland

Delegate Kathleen Dumais Senator Brian Feldman

Maryland Maryland

Delegate Jessica Feldmark Delegate Diana Fennell

Maryland Maryland

Delegate Catherine Forbes Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo

Maryland Maryland

Senator Shelly Hettleman Delegate Julian Ivey

Maryland Maryland

Delegate Steve Johnson Senator Delores Kelley

Maryland Maryland

Delegate Marc Korman Senator Ben Kramer

Maryland Maryland

Senator Susan Lee

Maryland

Delegate Robbyn Lewis

Maryland

Delegate Lesley Lopez

Maryland

Delegate David Moon

Maryland

Delegate Edith Patterson

Maryland

Senator Paul Pinsky

Maryland

Delegate Mike Rogers

Maryland

Delegate Stephanie Smith

Maryland

Delegate Vaughn Stewart

Maryland

Senator Jeff Waldstreicher

Maryland

Delegate Courtney Watson

Maryland

Assemblymember Wayne DeAngelo

New Jersey

Representative Julie von Haefen

North Carolina

Representative Chris Rabb

Pennsylvania

Delegate Evan Hansen

West Virginia

Delegate Mary Lehman

Maryland

Delegate Brooke Lierman

Maryland

Delegate Sara Love

Maryland

Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr

Maryland

Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk

Maryland

Delegate Susie Proctor

Maryland

Delegate Emily Shetty

Maryland

Delegate Dana Stein

Maryland

Delegate Jen Terrasa

Maryland

Senator Mary Washington

Maryland

Delegate Nicole Williams

Maryland

Senator Bob Smith

New Jersey

Representative Danielle Friel Otten

Pennsylvania

Delegate Sam Rasoul

Virginia

Delegate Kayla Young

West Virginia